Steadfast Love

“No one gives you any warning what day a wave’s going to slam into your whole world and everything you know is going to take a complete 180.”

Let me ask you a question. How many of you have ever struggled with something? Yeah, me too. Maybe you are struggling right now, wondering why good things happen to bad people or why bad things happen to good people. Struggles are very hard to understand.

During trials, it is so easy to question why God is putting us through these things. Or better yet, some people even turn away from God during a trial. I am going to be honest with you… lately, I have been struggling so much. I have been through several trials and keep asking God “WHY?!” For a while, I tried to just keep myself busy and not think about anything. I was constantly on the go, studying, working out, etc. When I stopped for just a second and let my mind run wild, I realized how empty I felt.

I am broken. I am hurting. I am lost.

When I humbled myself and wrote those three sentences down, I lost it. Slowly, I realized I have two choices… 1) run towards God or 2) completely turn my back on Him. I decided to run towards God and seek the answers to my questions.

I was on Instagram one morning and saw Christy Nockles (singer at Passion City Church) had put up a picture with Lauren Chandler (Pastor Matt Chandler’s wife). Supposedly, Lauren had just come out with a new devotional called Steadfast Love. I looked it up on Amazon and decided I needed it immediately, even if I didn’t fully understand what this devotional was about at the time.

Psalm 107:1, “Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever!”

Once I started reading it, I found out Steadfast Love is all about Psalm 107 and how to approach the twists and turns life hands us. “When everything takes a 180—take the 107.” If you read Psalm 107, it basically says to receive help from God, we have to humble ourselves and swallow our pride and cry out to Him. God wants to show us His love when we are broken. However, in order to do that, He has to make us fully aware of our need to depend totally upon Him in every situation.

In times of brokenness and hurt, it may seem like God is distant and absent from our lives. When we are questioning why He is putting us through this pain, we may think He does not love us. This is the complete opposite. He is right there, waiting for us to surrender ourselves completely to Him. He loves you and is going to bring you through whatever hard situation you are going through right now. Trust in His mercy and grace.

Lamentations 3:24, “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.”

So the answer to the “why?” is knowing that God gives you strength to get through hard situations and to trust Him, even when you don’t understand why you are going through a hard time. We have to be content in Christ and know that He is Lord through good and bad days. Our God is on our side and fights for us every day! Our God is bigger than the biggest trial we will ever face. He is the God that can move mountains and that created you and me.

God has shown me that He is there for me in small ways and has given me joy and hope again. He has put people in my life to pray for me, encourage me, and speak truth into my life. Instead of asking, “Why?” I have changed my views and have decided to say, “God, I trust you. I know that you are good and faithful. I know you have me in this trial for a reason and I know you are going to bring me through this.”

Psalm 73:26, “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Leave a Reply

