We need to change that. NOW.

As I’m sitting here writing this my heart is breaking.

I’ve kept quiet about my thoughts on the recent events happening around the US. It seems like every day I get a notification about another shooting somewhere around the country. What’s sad is that even though we should continue to be shocked every time there is a new shooting, it’s become so commonplace that the shock factor is wearing off.

We need to change that. NOW.

We should be in shock, saddened, and standing up to fight for those around us.

It doesn’t matter what race, gender, religion etc. you are… we are called to love our neighbors. Remember the golden rule and how we would say it at least once a day in grade school??

“Treat others how you would want to be treated”

What has happened to those days when we genuinely cared for and wanted to be friends with everyone, no matter who they were?

I went to see (aka was dragged to…) The Purge: Election Year the other night. The only thing I could think about was how it’s not just a movie… The movie felt all too real. It is happening all over us. Not just in the US, but all around the world.

In the past week, I have heard two people in different areas of my life say, “We need to understand someone’s background to truly understand them.” It is all too easy to judge someone off of the first 30 seconds we meet them. If we don’t like the way they look, act, dress, etc. most people immediately write them off. What’s said is that it’s even worse with social media these days. You are about to meet someone new, chances are you have already stalked them on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter.

We need to change that. NOW.

Abraham Lincoln once said, “I do not like that man. I must get to know him better.”

I think that quote is just as accurate today as it was 150 years ago. If we were to take that quote to heart and truly take that mindset into our everyday lives, then maybe we wouldn’t have as many problems as we are having today. Generalizations are making it too easy to divide people into specific groups.

We need to change that. NOW.

Somehow, someway, we are all connected to division. It’s on us to make a difference and stand up. I’m not saying I’m perfect because it is so easy to adapt a judgmental attitude. However, I’m trying each and every day to combat that mindset and move towards the mindset that Abe had. I must get to know the people I don’t understand.

This is our world, our country. It’s time to start running towards each other, not away.

Leave a Reply

